16 years

This week was a monumental week for me. On Monday, I celebrated being alive for 16 years. You might be wondering about that number, but my math isn’t wrong. On June 9, 1992 I was diagnosed with Leukemia.

Most people might not want to celebrate something as horrible as this, in fact some people might be thinking I am really morbid in my celebration, but I’m not crazy. 16 years ago this week my life was forever changed. I look back on it, and I remember thinking that nothing worse could have happened to me. But now I look at my life and realize that nothing better could have happened to me. Here is just a few reasons why I think this way:

  • I have friends that I would have never had before
  • I have a better understanding of the mortality of mankind
  • I realized that death isn’t horrible for the deceased
  • Life is too short
  • I have a cause

I still find myself slipping back into worrying about the small stuff, but eventually I remember that this is my 3rd shot at life and I need to take advantage of that. I am living the life I feel I should be living. I am still scared, but really, what’s the worst that could happen? What could be more scary than facing death? I’ll tell you…women…just kidding…no really…

Posted in random. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “16 years”

  1. Josh Says:

    Glad you are still here & part of the family!

  2. Angie Whitby Says:

    Sixteen years is a big deal. I’m glad you’re here and living strong.

  3. Travis hart Says:

    I’m with you on the woman thing man. Even after being being married almost 10 years there are things that still scare the $%&# out of me. I’m gald your still with us and part of our lives. We’ll get over this scared of girls thing, don’t worry 😉

  4. katie Says:

    Girls, we are scary. We are glad that you are around…


Leave a comment